RSS

Beach-Peanut all pollened-up but no place to go

11 Nov

Okenia hypogaea

Nyctaginaceae, the 4 o’clock family


While beachcombing a few days ago for flowering nickerbean (found a couple),  a stunning blossom surprised me directly on the beach sand glowing purple and yellow between my flip-flops:  Beach-Peanut.    Misnomer alert:  not a peanut.  What this species has in common with a peanut is it buries its fruit, pretty dang deep, generally between 4 inches and a foot.  Then it somehow manages the miracle of sprouting way down there and penetrating to the surface, or the buried seed may wash away during beach erosion to find itself under shifting sands on a different beach.   Perhaps Nicole relocated a few.   As the “peanut” is pushed down through the abrasive sand, it forms a thick protective “helmet” on its downward end.

Look at this crazy plant burying its fruit!

The buried “nut” is in the lower left.

The species is rare in Florida, on a short stretch of the coastal East Coast, and extends southward onto tropical beaches beyond the Sunshine State.  You don’t see it often, and never would if not for that eye-popping magenta flower.  Oddly those purple petals are not petals, but rather fancy sepals.

By John Bradford

I wonder what pollinator visits it.  Maybe nobody, because the tiny bit of study devoted to the biology of this species, in the 1970s,  found two types of flowers: 1.  The showy ones seem to be strictly functionally male, oddly having no recipient for their pollen because there seem to be no pollen-receptive female (or mixed sex)  flowers.  (They may have a stigma but it does not work.)  2. The second type of flower never fully opens.  Instead, it self-pollinates while remaining shuttered and buries the baby.  

This flower is functionally male-only. By JB.

So why make those big showy pointless male blossoms?  I don’t know.  Somewhere along the line something must have changed.  Perhaps pollen-receptive flowers do (or once did) exist in the less-explored parts of the range on some remote Gilligan’s Island beyond Florida.  If so, the seeds most likely to go forth and successfully colonize a new beach would be those that mature into self-pollinated individuals with assured solo reproduction. No partner from a second seed required.  So then maybe Florida is home to a line of mutated self-pollinated diaspora escaped from a proper but undiscovered male-female population.   As the last botanist who studied Beach-Peanut said, “this interesting genus requires further study.” Ya think?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2022 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “Beach-Peanut all pollened-up but no place to go

  1. wildlifereveries

    November 12, 2022 at 7:49 am

    George, That’s quite an interesting thought as to why there don’t seem to be any female flowers to be found in Florida.  I’m on the road returning from Massachusetts to my home in Sarasota.  I am armed with your new guide to get out and about and search for the interesting.   Lynda Geller

     
    • George Rogers

      November 12, 2022 at 10:30 am

      Hi wide-ranging Lynda. Welcome back to FL. Find some good stuff!

       
      • wildlifereveries

        November 12, 2022 at 12:48 pm

        George,

        Thanks for answering me. I send out my own nature blog with the wider framework of nature wherever I am. During covid I sent one out every day to help people have connections in that lonely time. I really liked getting responses to my efforts and many told me it helped lift their spirits during those dark days. Today’s was particularly odd so I thought I’d send it to you for fun. I’m forwarding it to you if you are interested.

        Lynda

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

         
      • George Rogers

        November 12, 2022 at 10:08 pm

        Lynda, I subscribe to your blog and enjoy. Sure send it!

         
      • Lynda Geller

        November 14, 2022 at 9:28 am

        George, I send out my posts from an email list that I maintain. I had been going to use wordpress, but decided I didn’t want to deal with the public. If you would like to receive my Soul Poems, please send me an email address where I may send them.

         
  2. Annie Hite

    November 12, 2022 at 11:02 am

    Thanks for more great info. I enjoy your posts very much. I hope you won’t mind an unrelated to the post question which is :
    What are the dots on Simpson Stopper leaves and what is their purpose?

     
    • George Rogers

      November 12, 2022 at 10:12 pm

      Don’t really know for certain, but I think they are likely tiny pockets of essential oils so characteristic of the myrtle family.

       
  3. Michael Yustin

    November 13, 2022 at 12:00 am

    What beach did you find it at?

     
    • George Rogers

      November 13, 2022 at 8:06 am

      MacArthur Pk.

       

Leave a comment